Life in
Austria

Austria is located in Central Europe, between the River Rhine and Lake Constance to the west and the climatically mild Pannonian Plain and Lake Neusiedl to the east. More than half of the country's total area is covered by the Alps. Austria is bordered to the west by Switzerland and Liechtenstein, to the south by Italy and Slovenia, to the east by Hungary and Slovakia and to the north by Germany and the Czech Republic. Since 1995, Austria has been a member of the European Union.

Land of Mountains, Land of Lakes

Austria has much to offer its visitors: from Vienna, the imperial city of over a million inhabitants — chosen by Mercer in 2011 as the world's most desirable city to live in — to an intense, natural beauty, characterised by mountains, rivers and lakes. With its outstanding hospitality, Austria attracts millions of visitors every year, all year round.

Profile

Total area: 83.878 km²
Population: 8.44 million
Capital: Vienna
States: nine
Highest point: Grossglockner, 3,798 m
Largest state: Lower Austria
Smallest state: Vienna
Largest cities: Vienna, Graz, Linz
Trade Balance (2011): Exports: €122 billion / Imports: €130 billion

Climate

Austria, located in central Europe, falls within a transitional zone between an oceanic and a continental climate. The country is located in a temperate zone, experiencing a warm to moderately cool climate.

Languages

The official language is German. Slovenian, Hungarian and Croatian are also spoken on a regional basis.

Send us your CV

You can upload your application documents here.

Career center

Our career center is guidebook for all questions around the application.

Social responsibility

Targeted support for projects that help children with cancer.

Österreich

Liegt in Mitteleuropa, zwischen Rhein und Bodensee im Westen und der klimatisch milden pannonischen Tiefebene mit dem Neusiedler See im Osten. Mehr als die Hälfte der Staatsfläche ist von den Alpen bedeckt. Österreich grenzt im Westen an die Schweiz, an Liechtenstein, im Süden an Italien und Slowenien, im Osten an Ungarn und die Slowakei und im Norden an Tschechien sowie an Deutschland. Seit 1995 ist Österreich Mitglied der Europäischen Union.

Land der Berge, Land der Seen

Österreich hat seinen Besuchern viel zu bieten: Zum einen die imperiale Millionenstadt Wien – sie wurde 2011 von Mercer zur lebenswertesten Stadt der Welt gekürt. Zum anderen die Naturbelassenheit mit vielen Bergen, Flüssen und Seen. Auch wegen seiner Gastfreundschaft zieht das Land jedes Jahr Millionen Gäste an, im Winter wie im Sommer.

Steckbrief

Fläche: 83.878 km²
Bevölkerung: 8,440 Millionen
Hauptstadt: Wien
Bundesländer: neun
Höchster Punkt: Großglockner, 3798 m
Größtes Bundesland: Niederösterreich
Kleinstes Bundesland: Wien
Größte Städte: Wien, Graz, Linz
Handelsbilanz (2011): Export: 122 Milliarden EUR / Import: 130 Milliarden EUR

Klima

Österreich, das in zentraleuropäischer Lage liegt, fällt in den Übergangsbereich vom ozeanischen zum kontinentalen Klima. Das Land befindet sich in einer gemäßigten Klimazone, es herrscht grundsätzlich warmes bis kühl gemäßigtes Klima.

Landessprachen

Die Landessprache ist deutsch. Regional wird auch slowenisch, ungarisch und kroatisch gesprochen.

Direkt bewerben

Hier können Sie Ihre Bewerbungs-
unterlagen direkt hochladen.

Karriere-Center

Unser Karriere-Center ist ein Ratgeber für alle Fragen rund um die Bewerbung.

Hays-Studien

Hier stehen Studien zu aktuellen Arbeitsmarktthemen für Sie zum Download bereit.