Job profile
Data Engineer (m/f/d)

You are looking for the right Data engineer for your company?

Data engineers: ensuring the supply of relevant data within companies

Big data and analytics are becoming increasingly important for the business of major companies. Both data engineers and big data engineers use different technologies for the generation, storage, maintenance and preparation of large amounts of data. They collate data and transfer them to an analysis infrastructure.

Which opportunities do data engineers have on the labour market?

In the context of digitalisation, data are considered one of the most important resources of the 21st century. Therefore, the demand for qualified IT specialists is growing. Large companies in particular require the help of (big) data engineers to collect huge amounts of business-relevant data. Consequently, the career prospects of these experts are excellent. They are not only sought-after by companies in the field of information technology, but also in industries such as healthcare, engineering and finance. Get in touch with your personal contact person at Hays to find out more!

What are the tasks of data engineers?

Depending on their function within the company, data engineers are either referred to as big data engineers or big data architects. They develop data infrastructures combining internal and external data sources, which are then used by data scientists for further analyses. Moreover, data engineers are responsible for the generation, maintenance, preparation and storage of current data.

  • Responsibility for collating data
  • Preparation of data for further processing by data scientists
  • Ensuring the quality, reliability and performance of the IT infrastructure
  • Integration of data into a central, robust and flexible analysis infrastructure
  • Modelling of scalable database architectures
  • Improvement of the IT infrastructure with regard to IT security, data protection and data security
  • Working in a team

Which hard skills and soft skills should data engineers have?

In general, an academic degree in computer sciences or a related qualification and relevant professional experience are required to work as a data engineer.

  • An academic degree in computer sciences or business informatics with focus on data development and software engineering
  • Technical understanding of big data infrastructures and technologies
  • Good command of software and programming languages and good knowledge of machine learning
  • Excellent skills in working with databases
  • Analytical skills
  • Strong communication skills for the presentation of analysis results

What is the average salary of data engineers?

In the course of their career, data engineers can become senior data engineers, business intelligence architects and (big) data architects/engineers. Their gross annual salary varies between EUR 45,000 and EUR 70,000, depending on experience, qualifications and company size.

Find your ideal job as a data engineer – with Hays

As big data is an IT trend on the rise, the demand for qualified data engineers is high. We help you find your desired position, taking into consideration your qualifications and experience. Learn more about the benefits of finding a job with Hays!!

Relevant contract types

Jobprofil
Data Engineer (m/w/d)

Sie suchen den passenden Data Engineer für den Einsatz in Ihrem Unternehmen?

Data Engineer: Unternehmen mit Big Data versorgen

Das Thema Big Data und Analytics wird für das Business größerer Unternehmen zunehmend wichtiger. Der Data Engineer nutzt technologische Möglichkeiten für die Generierung, Speicherung, Pflege und Aufbereitung großer Datenmengen. Er führt die Daten zusammen und überführt diese in eine Analyseinfrastruktur. Bei großen Datenmengen ist der Big Data Engineer gefragt.

Welche Chancen haben Sie als Data Engineer auf dem Arbeitsmarkt?

Im Rahmen der Digitalisierung wächst der Bedarf an qualifizierten IT-Spezialisten, Daten gelten als einer der wichtigsten „Rohstoffe“ des 21. Jahrhunderts. Mithilfe der Fähigkeiten eines (Big) Data Engineers sammeln insbesondere größere Unternehmen riesige Datenmengen für ihr Business. Die Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt stehen daher genauso wie beim Data Scientist sehr gut. Neben Firmen im Bereich Information Technology brauchen auch Unternehmen aus Fachgebieten wie Healthcare, Engineering und Finance die IT-Experten. Kontaktieren Sie jetzt Ihren persönlichen Ansprechpartner bei Hays für weitere Informationen.

Was sind die Aufgaben eines Data Engineers?

Der Data Engineer wird je nach Position im Unternehmen alternativ als Big Data Engineer oder Big Data Architect bezeichnet. Er entwickelt eine Data-Infrastruktur, in der er interne und externe Datenquellen zusammenführt. Diese nutzt der Data Scientist für weitere Analysen. Er ist für die Generierung aktueller Daten, die Pflege, Aufbereitung und Sicherung zuständig.

  • Verantwortet die Zusammenführung von Daten
  • Bereitet Daten vor, die ein Data Scientist weiterverarbeitet
  • Sorgt mit seinen Services für die Qualität, Zuverlässigkeit und Leistung der IT-Infrastruktur
  • Integriert Daten in eine zentrale, robuste und flexible Analyseinfrastruktur
  • Modelliert skalierbare Datenbank-Architekturen
  • Verbessert die IT-Infrastruktur hinsichtlich IT-Security, Datenschutz und Datensicherheit
  • Arbeitet im Team

Welche Hard Skills & Soft Skills braucht ein Data Engineer als Spezialist für die Datenversorgung?

In der Regel benötigen Sie für den Job als Data Engineer ein abgeschlossenes Informatikstudium, die Alternative sind passende Qualifikationen und einschlägige Berufserfahrungen.

  • Studium der Informatik oder Wirtschaftsinformatik mit Spezialisierung in Data Development und Software Engineering
  • Technisches Verständnis für Big-Data-Infrastrukturen und -Technologien
  • Kenntnisse in Software, Programmiersprachen und im Bereich Machine Learning
  • Hervorragende Datenbank-Kenntnisse
  • Analytische Fähigkeiten
  • Kommunikationsfähigkeiten für die Präsentation von Analyseergebnissen

Gehalt: Wie viel verdient ein Data Engineer in Unternehmen?

Das Gehalt hängt von der Qualifizierung und Erfahrung ab. Im weiteren Karriereverlauf entwickelt sich der Data Engineer zum Senior Data Engineer, Business Intelligence Architect und schließlich (Big) Data Architect bzw. Big Data Engineer. Das Jahresbruttogehalt variiert je nach Qualifikation und Unternehmensgröße zwischen 45.000 bis 70.000 Euro.

Mit Hays finden Sie den besten Job als Data Engineer

Big Data ist einer der großen Trends im IT-Sektor, die Nachfrage nach qualifizierten Mitarbeitern entsprechend groß. Wir berücksichtigen Ihre Qualifikation und Berufserfahrung und bringen Sie in die gewünschte Position. Erfahren Sie jetzt mehr über die Vorteile der Jobsuche mit Hays!

Relevante Vertragsarten